Need help on speakers, I'm a total newbie

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi guys, I need help on making a decision about which speaker to get.

I own many headphones and recently took great interest in speakers (Headphones are kinda anti-social when friends come over to visit)

After days of searching online for a good pair of budget (I'm willing to spend around 300, maybe more or less) speakers, I stumbled across the tekton model 4.5. You could look at www.tektondesign.com for more information.

They go for around USD300 excluding shipping.. I'd already have a pair sitting beside me if the shipping to my location didn't cost USD127. With taxes, all-in, the total cost would come to around SGD700 (singapore dollars). It seems like they're simple fostex FE127E drivers within high-quality MDF cabinets which are built according to specification.

Quote from their website:
Main Features: Superior quality Fostex FE127E 4.5” (114.3mm) full-range drivers to provide an unsurpassed level of output, fidelity, and detail all the way up to 20kHz

Warm and rich bass response that is produced by a textbook Quasi third-order ported Butterworth alignment, and at the foundation is the top-quality MDF cabinet, with fiberglass damping

An oversized port that eliminates all possible vent noises

Gold plated 5-way binding terminal posts

Completely designed, critically voiced, and hand built by a master craftsman.

I'm not sure whether all these means anything.. Sometimes companies market their products with fancy words, but with my lack of knowledge I can't make out whether this is reliable.