New member- Aleph 2 Heatsink Confusion

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
New mamber- Aleph 2 Heatsink Confusion

I am a new member, just recently returning to my beloved MG-IIIa speakers after their multi-year banishment due to a "disagreement" with my spouse over furniture placement. I am starting to collect parts for an Aleph 2 build. I have lots of experience building tube amps, but precious little with solid state. The major question at the moment is heatsink capacity. I have searched multiple threads and come away with the conclusion that I don't have a clue!

I have been looking at the 8.5" wide heatsinks offered on ebay by barredboss (Unfortunately, he has no data on the heat transfer properties of these heatsinks). It seems as if four of these on end would make an Aleph-like chassis, albeit smaller than the original. Since I have a transformer that will readily power multiple monoblocks (28-0-28 at 30 amps), I am planning an outboard supply feeding two amplifier chassis.

Other options that I have considered are M&M Metals (Too pricey at $485 plus shipping for a 6 foot section of extrusion), surplus (No luck, yet), and homemade, which is an option that I am still considering.

I would appreciate any suggestions that you might have regarding this approach, and any experience anyone may have had with these heatsinks.

Thanks in advance.

Paul

Hi Paul,

You need truly massive heat sinks for this project. The factory Aleph 2 was 12x12x10.5" with all four sides with heatsinks. The amp even had corners that were heat sinks. The fins were also large and heavy gauge.