Heathkit EA-3 conversion to guitar amp

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi! I'm new to both this forum, and to the world of tube amplification. I'm a guitarist and tinker. I build guitars and effects pedals, but this is my first foray into tubes and amplifiers. I know my way around with a soldering iron and a multimeter, but this is the first time I've done high voltage electronics.

I just got a good deal on a Heathkit EA-3 amplifier. Schematic here. I'm thinking that it would make a great little practice amp. I mostly play blues and classic rock type music, so I don't need massive overdrive, but a nice driven blues sound would be good. As this is my first amp project, I would like to keep things relatively simple.

Here is my basic plan for modifications, in order of execution:

0. Fix amplifier (if its broken, haven't received it yet)
1. Install 3 pronged cord with ground.
2. Install 1/4" jacks for mag-phono input (which seems to have an extra preamp stage, which would be good for guitar, right?), and for speaker outputs.
3. Remove input switcher knob, leaving only the guitar input.
4. Standby switch.
5. Guitar appropriate tone controls, remove RIAA equalization.
6. Build custom cab/combo amp enclosure.

Do you guys think this is a good progression both in terms of easiness and usefulness? Do you have any other suggestions for the amp?

To wire in a 3 pronged power cord, all I need to do is attach the additional ground wire to the chassis, correct?

The amplifier currently has a 2 knob tone control (Treble and Bass). Do you think I should stick to a 2 knob control, or do a traditional 3 knob (Treble, Mid, and Bass) control?

What safety precautions should I take when working on the amp? From what I have read, I plan to do the following:

1. Wait 5 minutes after unplugging the amp to work on it.