Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Power Supplies

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 16th January 2007, 11:29 AM   #1
sss is offline sss  Israel
diyAudio Member

Send a message via ICQ to sss
Default high freq ETD core transformer winding technique

this is my first time winding an ETD type ferrite core (used to work with toroids), so i need some advices with winding techniques...

first , the primary :
Click the image to open in full size.

as u can see , there are 2 cases :

a- the winding fits the bobbin and everything is ok .
b- the winding cant be fitted into one layer , so second layer is needed and the winding goes in the oposite direction.

first question:
is it ok to wind like that? (example b) it looks to me that the second layer goes in the other direction , but it seems like theres no other choice except connecting the 2 layers in series externally...
what u guys think?
Old 16th January 2007, 12:22 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

one more question
i know that the best way is to sandwitch the primary or the secondary winding . my only problem with this technique is the different lenght in wire for the outer parts of the sendwitch
so , i got an idea :
lets say i need 2 primaries and 2 secondaries (for push pull car smps)

Click the image to open in full size.

as u can see in the image , i'm thinking to wind the first part of the 2 primaries in bifilar winding ...
then i'm gonna wind the secondary (or the secondaries, didnt want to make the drawing too messy )
and the last part - 2 more primaries in bifillar winding.

now , in usial designs the first and the second part of the primaries are connected in series , i was thinking to connect them in paralell , what do u guys think? will the paralell connection of the outer sides of the sendwitch ruin the "sendwitch effect" and i will gain nothing?