Little help understanding Transformer ratings

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
OK I am slowly getting into electronics and am looking to embark on a dual variable regulated power supply. I have found some basic design ideas. standard bridge rectifier into an lm317 etc. Obviously since I am building a dual supply I need a centered tapped trafo. 48VCT to be exact. that should give me a decent range on the variability now heres the golden question. If I find a 110 primary 48VCT secondary rated at say 3 amps. that is 3 amps total at 48V if I take the CT and do +24 and -24 then I am only going to get 1.5 amps per leg correct? so If I wanted to overbuild a bit I should be looking for a 4-6 amp trafo. ( headroom is good) to allow me to comfortably pull up to 1.5 amps per side ( -24 , +24 ) AM I Understanding this correctly. ( bear with me I am a newb and still doing MUCH research before I start playing with mains)

Here is the basic design idea.

http://orca.st.usm.edu/~jmneal/dual_psu/

Thanks,
Randy

Ex-Moderator
Joined 2002
Smaller traffos tend to have worse regulation, i.e. the rails drop more when fully loaded, so usually do need to be oversized slightly if you intend pulling the full current from the PSU. To avoid this, I'd be looking at something rated, say, 25% above what you need, so for your supply I'd look at 2A per winding. Any more is overkill, fun, but overkill. ;)