lowering the voltage

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Rewind the transformer...

or employ a regulator chip (type required entirely dependent on your current draw requirements). In some cases, the regulator circuit will only add 3 additional parts. The voltage difference in your case does not even mandate a Low Drop Out regulator.

Lots of options when it comes to regulators.

pw

what i was wondering is .....what specifically should i do

what type of resistor or anything should i use.....

i'm not too technical savy when it comes to internals.....

i can solder some and once told what will do the job i can find it and put it in......i just need to know

is there a page anywhere that shows the amount of volt drop for differant types of resistors....or regulators?

i don't know what the 1/4w, 1/2w, and so on differance is......

i wanna drop the volts......that's all i know

this is all AC by the way.....no DC

If we know precisely both the voltage *and* constant current delivered to the load, you are correct... we can simply connect a resistor in series with the power source. This value is calculated in accordance with Ohm's Law. This resistor will drop some of the source voltage, leaving the right amount for the actual load.
Again... the voltage drop has a direct relationship to the load current.

Usually, however, this approach is not ideal. The required value of the series dropping resistor will almost never be a standard value so you right away have to start fudging.

While a resistor MIGHT cut it if your load were constant... chances are your load varies. When the Load varies, the mathematics OHMS LAW is in full effect. Vary the current... vary the voltage drop.