I need more volts in my car.

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi guys.
i am very new to this site site - and i'm a complete amateur at electronics - most of the stuff i know i have learn't by myself!!

Anyway, here's my problem - i have a house amp in my room that im not using and i want to use it in my car. it uses a single 50v transformer. can anyone help me to build somthing to get the 50v i need from a 12v car battery??

you have alot of different options, alot of it depends on your financial situation.

for example you can buy a 750 watt vector power inverter (only said a brand name cause they seem to be the most durable with inductive loads) for about $100 <usd>. however if the amplifier in question requires a sine wave such as the qsc powerlight series and the older model carvers, then simple inverters and smps may pose a problem.

depending on the vehicle in question a modification to the alternator may be an option. in my 85 ford E150 the voltage regulator and alternator were modified to produce between 90 and 110 vac 3 phase. that is an option but with that you need a high current recitfier and shunt regulator to limit the voltage to the charging system of the car.

if you choose to attempt to build something yourself and you amplifier doesn't require a sine wave and isn't really frequency dependant. such as if the transformer just dumps into a bridge recitfier and a few giant storage caps, your possabilities are almost endless.

just out of curiosity what are the rail voltages of the output section? does the rest of the amp just reduce the rail voltages to other usable levels or are there more windings and other taps on the transformer?

Adrian