One transformer dual PSU's

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi,
What's your oppinion on using one transformer and dual PSU's. With PSU I mean rectifers and capacitors.
At the moment I'm trying to get an amplifier silent without success, it is powered with such a power supply, ie one PSU for each channel but only one transformer. It's a 25V 500VA transformer and the PSU's consist of a PCB with a dual bridge (out of 8 discrete shottky diodes), dual 10.000uF capacitors some 100nF filmcaps and bleeder resistors. I think the PSU bord itself is good with a low impedence groundplane.

I've been reducing/eliminiating groundloops and other sources of buzz/hum/noise for quite some time, but It's not silent enough yet.

/Jesper

Though I am not really an expert, it was my impression that the use of a separate bridge and filter caps for individual amplifiers was as good as having separate and complete power supplies for each amplifier, because there is no feedback between the individual amps.

This is, of course, assuming that the one transformer is of suitable VA to handle the full load of both amps.

AX tech editor
Joined 2002
Paid Member
If you are having humm etc it probably is not from the fact that you have one transformer, but of the interconnections and loops to the two amps. Can you draw the supply schematic with the wiring *as it is now*, not what you want it to be (no offense meant, but these two may be different).

Jan Didden

I've attached a photo of the amp as it looks right now. I'll try to talk you trough the picture.

The power input is in the back, in the middle, it goes through a simple spike protection (MOV resistor and RC network) and then to a slow start sircuit/remote start (middle front).
From the transformer the two PSU's are connected (placed on the back, you can se the two larger caps on each board).