Power supply for JLH2003 & F5 Amplifier - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Power Supplies
Home Forums Rules Articles diyAudio Store Gallery Wiki Blogs Register Donations FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11th January 2017, 01:52 PM   #1
potstip is offline potstip  Turkey
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Default Power supply for JLH2003 & F5 Amplifier

Hello;

I want to build an amplifier which includes 2 amplifier instead;

For Pass F5 and JLH2003, but want to use same power supply for both. -+22v.

JLH2003
jlh volt.JPG

F5
1.3A bias 40W 4ohm 25W 8ohm as far as i know.

But i do not know how much amp they draw i think it is important to calculate voltage raiting in troidal.

I do not have any knowledge about electronic but i am good at mechanical things. So i build a case i alittle bit overkill i guess but nevermind my problem is define the secondary voltage troidal transformer according to setup here below;

Input/primary is 220v 50hz
I will use soft start
i will use CLC setup.
Rectifier: 2X IXYS VBE17-06NO7
Capacitor 8x Sikorel B41570E7479Q
Choke: 2X 195J10
Troidal will be 1500VA (750VA for each channel) %4-5 regulation probably.

So;

Can anybody tell me is there something wrong in my setup to run both amplifier with same PSU and what will be the voltage in troidal transformer
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_2998.jpg (663.9 KB, 261 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_2999.jpg (629.2 KB, 249 views)
Attached Files
File Type: pdf 195J10.pdf (257.3 KB, 27 views)
File Type: pdf B41570E7479Q.pdf (632.7 KB, 17 views)
File Type: pdf VBE17-06NO7.pdf (181.7 KB, 16 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2017, 02:17 PM   #2
Zen Mod is online now Zen Mod  Serbia
diyAudio Member
 
Zen Mod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ancient Batsch , behind Iron Curtain
2x18Vac

meaning - two independent 18Vac secondaries , one bridge per winding

so , dual bridge setup , same as in F5 user/service manual
__________________
my Papa is smarter than your Nelson !
clean thread; Cook Book;PSM LS Cook Book;Baby DiyA ;Mighty ZM's Bloggg;Papatreasure;Papa... by Mighty ZM

Last edited by Zen Mod; 11th January 2017 at 02:19 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2017, 02:19 PM   #3
potstip is offline potstip  Turkey
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Hello Zen thank you for quick response. Do you think my setup here above is work well?
  Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2017, 02:33 PM   #4
Zen Mod is online now Zen Mod  Serbia
diyAudio Member
 
Zen Mod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ancient Batsch , behind Iron Curtain
yup

but - be sure that you put all gnd wires on that central bolt (other side from bridges) , including feed from bridges

if you need sketch , say
__________________
my Papa is smarter than your Nelson !
clean thread; Cook Book;PSM LS Cook Book;Baby DiyA ;Mighty ZM's Bloggg;Papatreasure;Papa... by Mighty ZM
  Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2017, 02:44 PM   #5
potstip is offline potstip  Turkey
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Sorry if my question is annoyying;

1)Do you want me to open a new screw hole in the middle of copper ground (red marked in IMG_2999.jpg picture) or want me to collect other grounds to blue square. Please my stetch in attachments.

2)I try to make simulation with my poor knowledge as see in attachments adsiz.jpg;

If amplifier draw 10A and input is 18V my output seems 19.4V is this normal?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_2999.jpg (617.6 KB, 214 views)
File Type: jpg Ads?z.jpg (566.0 KB, 198 views)
File Type: png My sketch.png (42.5 KB, 198 views)

Last edited by potstip; 11th January 2017 at 02:50 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2017, 03:48 PM   #6
Zen Mod is online now Zen Mod  Serbia
diyAudio Member
 
Zen Mod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ancient Batsch , behind Iron Curtain
F5 will draw ~ 160W both channels
JLH probably less

depending of Rdc of chokes , you'll need slightly more than 18Vac secondaries

if you can live with 20-21Vdc rails , go for 18Vac secs

if you can get custom secondaries for same money , go for 2x20Vac
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_2999.jpg (69.0 KB, 80 views)
__________________
my Papa is smarter than your Nelson !
clean thread; Cook Book;PSM LS Cook Book;Baby DiyA ;Mighty ZM's Bloggg;Papatreasure;Papa... by Mighty ZM
  Reply With Quote
Old 12th January 2017, 05:55 AM   #7
potstip is offline potstip  Turkey
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
In the spesifications of Choke resistance is 0.07Ohm but I am not sure that resistance will be same in ~20Vdc input.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12th January 2017, 12:51 PM   #8
Zen Mod is online now Zen Mod  Serbia
diyAudio Member
 
Zen Mod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ancient Batsch , behind Iron Curtain
just go for it

regarding PSUD sim - you'll probably have some 3A5 for F5 and some 2A for JLH

that's substantially lower than 10A
__________________
my Papa is smarter than your Nelson !
clean thread; Cook Book;PSM LS Cook Book;Baby DiyA ;Mighty ZM's Bloggg;Papatreasure;Papa... by Mighty ZM
  Reply With Quote
Old 12th January 2017, 01:13 PM   #9
AndrewT is offline AndrewT  Scotland
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Scottish Borders
Quote:
Originally Posted by potstip View Post
Sorry if my question is annoyying;

1)Do you want me to open a new screw hole in the middle of copper ground (red marked in IMG_2999.jpg picture) or want me to collect other grounds to blue square. Please my stetch in attachments.

2)I try to make simulation with my poor knowledge as see in attachments adsiz.jpg;

If amplifier draw 10A and input is 18V my output seems 19.4V is this normal?
Do not make an extra connection in the middle of that zero volts plate.

Power from the transformer/rectifier comes in at one END. Power leaves to feed the amplifier from the other END.
You can make the Safety Connection to Chassis from this plate, but this could be from many other wires/cables in the assembly.
No other connections are made to the zero volts plate. Just the input and the output at opposite ENDs.

ZenMod's drawing in post6 seems to show different.
Get him to explain why his drawing will not put Hum and Buzz into the amplifier cabling.
__________________
regards Andrew T.
Sent from my desktop computer using a keyboard

Last edited by AndrewT; 12th January 2017 at 01:17 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12th January 2017, 01:33 PM   #10
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Bloemfontein
Andrew, I'm with you on this one.
__________________
Regards
Jan
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Firstwatt F5 power supply frangus Power Supplies 1 19th December 2016 07:53 PM
f5 Turbo power supply captJackSparrow Power Supplies 65 14th June 2016 10:34 AM
FS: Audio Sector Power Supply Boards For Pass F5 Amplifier w/ Jensen Caps & On Diodes orthoefer Swap Meet 3 26th July 2013 08:30 PM
F5 power supply... HVfanatic Pass Labs 11 4th July 2013 10:11 PM
WTB F5 power 12V input smps power supply JZatopa Swap Meet 2 19th June 2011 02:41 AM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 07:47 PM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 1999-2017 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2
Wiki