Field Coil Power Supply DIY - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Power Supplies

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 21st January 2015, 06:52 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Field Coil Power Supply DIY

Has anyone out there built their own field coil power supply? There are a few commercial designs out there but in the spirit of DIY those aren't to my liking. I have a pair of German field coils and Lowther basket assemblies.

I have read diy posts on batteries, and using antique PSUs. I'd like to build my own based on the following theme:

120V-> isolation transformer->variac->HV Bridge rectifier->HV filter caps-> field coil. (Fusing for safety assumed)

My field coils will work 0-120VDC and 0-3 amps. Should be ridiculously simple but as I have no experience with field coils I'd appreciate any advise from those with experience. I'd prefer not to get into a long discussion of "sound of " power supply components. Posts or PM appreciated.
Old 31st January 2015, 07:58 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

Are you sure of your figures ? 120vdc and 3A will be 360w of heat that just
doesn't seem right. Could that be 12v at 3A or 120v at .3A ?
Old 31st January 2015, 08:41 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

Yes, you are correct. My Field coil has a 450 ohm field coil. At 150 V (max) it should require a current of .3A. However, it can hand a lower voltage at higher amperage(3A max). The manufacturer states "up to 150VDC with no current limitation".

I picked up a used paper chromatography power supply that will do 0-200V and will supply up to 1.5 amps. I am going to give this a try to start. I have found a number of 5U4GB based tube supplies in a 1930's Radio Handbook. This appears to be what a few commercial units are doing. I really appreciate your reply. Doesn't seem to be much interest.
Old 31st January 2015, 11:20 PM   #4
diyAudio Member