Adjusting for high mains voltage?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
The first project I am working on is a preamp.
I was about to hook my transformer to the power supply but have higher than expected voltage. The transformer was designed for 115V mains, where I had 123.x around the house. I've tested 125 in the past.
Instead of the 230V I was expecting from the transformer, I think it was 246.3 - so by the time it is converted to DC...
246.3 * 1.414 gives me 348 which I need to knock down to 280.
68 volts to drop sounds much further than 42 and I was already worried about dropping that much with a resistor. (does it increase ripple? I'm a noob, but just downloaded the first chapter of the Morgan Jones book from my library - probably available to me thanks to the engineering school :) )

Is there a simple way to condition the power coming in... the equivalent of a resistor on the AC without starting one of those discussions for millionaires or ... I'll not say any words that will hurt anyone's feelings.
Don't know how to search for transformers designed to work with mains voltages between 120 and 125.

There is also another trick called bucking, where you use the secondary low voltage output of a small transformer to reduce the output of your transformer.
The main advantage of this trick is that you don't have to dissipate the excess voltage with resistors.

You can find the trick here :
Winding configurations : Transformers - Electronics Textbook

Iso the primary winding, as shown in the link, you can do the same with the secondary of your transformer.

If it's a preamp, extra voltage is a bonus, not a disadvantage.

Rather than knocking AC down, knock DC with an extra resistor.

Add an extra filter cap and you've just gained an extra ripple killing RC filter.

What's not to like about that?

If anything, check you don't have way too much filament voltage.