2500 Watt SMPS transfomer specs needed

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I need a little help with making a transformer(s) for my SMPS. I am a hobbyist at best, so please be gentle with me and my knowledge. I've manged to build a SMPS module and it's working fine. The only problem that i have now is too figure out to calculate and chose the components for the transformer. My knowledge of transformers only extends to power inverters.

Ok. here's the problem. I calculated the transformer as I would an inverter (2500watts) and it's huge. So I'm suspecting that calculating SMPS transformer must be different.

My specs SMPS 12 - 0 - 12 input and 80 - 0 - 80 output, 50KHz. I need information on constructing a ferrite based transformer, preferably EI to supply power to my amp.

All help accepted

Thanks

I need a little help with making a transformer(s) for my SMPS. I am a hobbyist at best, so please be gentle with me and my knowledge. I've manged to build a SMPS module and it's working fine. The only problem that i have now is too figure out to calculate and chose the components for the transformer. My knowledge of transformers only extends to power inverters.

Ok. here's the problem. I calculated the transformer as I would an inverter (2500watts) and it's huge. So I'm suspecting that calculating SMPS transformer must be different.

My specs SMPS 12 - 0 - 12 input and 80 - 0 - 80 output, 50KHz. I need information on constructing a ferrite based transformer, preferably EI to supply power to my amp.

All help accepted

Thanks

2500W from 12V is hard and difficult with only one transformer.
So if I were you, i would make several smaller, lets say 400-600W each...
In a smaller transformer you will get more turns around the primary, not just one.
Aim to for example 4 turns in primary.
From my sleeve, 6pcs ETD39 makes 2500w.