Wireless power transfer

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Disabled Account
Joined 2014
I am building a wireless charging station and since I am new to high frequency switching I would like to discuss the design here with someone with more experience. I will do the testing and post the results here and hopefully my results can be used by others wanting to do something similar.

The plan is to charge 10 NIMH cells in a remote through inductive coupling from a base station. The reason for using NIMH cells is that thay are safer. Also, when it comes to volume they have about the same energy density as LiPo.

There will be a communication system between the remote and the base station based on 2,4GHz RF link.

I have bought a transmitter and receiving coil from Würth
http://katalog.we-online.de/pbs/datasheet/760308111.pdf
http://katalog.we-online.de/pbs/datasheet/760308201.pdf

The distance between the coils will be about 5 mm and I am hoping to be able to transfer around 8W maximum for a charge time of about 4-5 hours.

So far I have built this PWM circuit where I can adjust both frequency and duty cycle. The logic at the end extract every second pulse and feed them to two inputs on the gate-driver (Si8233). This works fine and I can adjust duty cycle from 0 to almost 100%
PWM generator.gif

The plan is to adjust the duty cycle depending on how much power the charging circuit in the remote needs.

The output stage I want to try first looks like this:
sender-coil output amp.gif

I have only simulated this so far and it seems to be working there. It consists of only 5 components. Two mosfets, coil L1, Cap C2 (MKP) and the sender coil.
The sender coil is optimized to work at 125kHz so I have used a 260nF cap in parallel with the coil to make a resonant tank. The resonant frequency is 1/(2*PI*SQRT(L*C))