Need help with overvoltage circuit - LM338k

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello,

I need a overvoltage protection in case of short circuit in IC LM338K. As I am not technical, just a hobbyst, any help will be welcome. It would be even better if it is presented some circuit that has already been tested.

The LM338K is being used in the standard format of the data sheet and the applied load is 3.4 A with 6.3 v DC. The input voltage is 10.5 DC. I saw some options circuits in this forum and on the internet, but I could not identify any simple and efficient circuit for protection in case of short circuit LM338K.

Any help is welcome.

Hi woody,

Thank you for quickly replay.

No, it is about overvoltage. In my power supply arrangement the control voltage is fed into a lm338k regulator. This controls the current and hence the output voltage. Typically, in this type of regulator, the input voltage may be well in excess of the output voltage. If the series regulator CI in the power supply fails in a mode where it becomes a short circuit, the pre-regulated smoothed voltage level will be applied to the circuit being powered. This could cause significant damage to my tubes (valve amp).

I would like to use a led to indicate a failure in both cases: the overvoltage protection circuit fail or an overvoltage on output.

Joined 2011
Paid Member
One possible idea might be to (a) sense overvoltage at the output, and if it is present, (b) short the input to ground with a very high current "crowbar", thus blowing the fuse and shutting down the entire circuit.