Linear power supply for pc

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Oh when cascading PSU's generaly you will have a on board SMPS for the main supply (say 3V3) then quite often small local LDO's are used for isolated derived voltages (such as a local 3V3 for a clock etc). AQ lot of new main SMPS's are now employing spread spectrum and multphase design topology. But as a technology the PC is not exactly new, I've been using one to do my job since 1985.

But as a technology the PC is not exactly new, I've been using one to do my job since 1985.

And so have i and that proves, what?

Otoh, 1985 was indeed a very different time and i believe audio systems at the time sounded in many ways much better than they sound today. Around that time British audio mag reviewers had an obsession with front panel LEDs. I think it was Jimmy Hughes who first started disabling such devices and claimed improved sound. What in '85 was a potential source of RF, today is among the audiophile's favourite voltage references, commended for it's low noise. The irony :)

It is, of course, speculation, but one explanation for the sonic preference for linear supplies is that switched mode regulators integrated into mother boards have negligible effect on RF pollution compared to off-board power supplies. Ground planes and the absence of long wires certainly do make a difference. The (anecdotal indeed) effect of sata filters points in the same direction.

What worries me about a class D is that it is transmitting noise into the envoironment, if it is a commercial piece of equipement it should be EMC compatable, the noise spectrum is already bad enought with all the wireless devices and mains borne noise as it is.