Polytone power supply rehab..can u help?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi, I am new to the group and love the sound of my Polytone baby Taurus with 8 inch speaker. This thing is old now (like me) so I would think its not too hard to make a "Polyclone' of this thing. I have some electronics background, but never built an amp before...not great at translating the schematic to a PCB. Can anyone recommend a starting point? A book or something to get started with cleaning up this power supply? Its now full of pops and buzzes...probably needs new filter caps...i dont even know which things on the board are the filter caps...or what they do. So..thats where im at. Anybody ?

Here are some pics!

GREAT idea! I didnt know you can upload pics here.
This is the amp and the power supply only...I just want to rebuild the power section for now...not sure where to start or where to get supplies..etc...i need some guru mentoring....i would be willing to pay for some one on one tutoring. I have the power transistors out...waiting for replacements.
On this you can see that the large yellow (cap?) is just flappin in the breeze. Well..i have another amp of exact same model..that works perfect, so I opened it up to see where that lead is supposed to connect to. The 'good' amp has the SAME cap just hangin there! but it works!! I do not see where it could have been attached, but there is solder on the end of it..also, it may connect to the nearby resistor...but I cant make that out on the schematic on murch which is blurry..i can post the schmatic if you dont have it...but its here: http://www.murchmusic.com/Polytone Info/schem2.JPG but its posted online upside down.
Im hoping that fixes it..but something tells me its not that easy. Please feel free to contact me on this! Chas

Attachments

• P1000445.jpg
    P1000445.jpg
    630.5 KB · Views: 115
  • P1000447.jpg
    P1000447.jpg