Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Power Supplies

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 7th July 2012, 11:47 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Regulated Capacitance Multiplier Supply Board

I have been using this supply for a few months now and it seems to work very well.

It is meant to be used with Class A Headphone amplifiers.

Simple LM317/LM337 preregulation and then 2 x 750 HFE 4A Darlington transistors in the cap multipliers.

Output will be around 2-2.5 volts less than what the LM317/LM337 preregulators output is set at, depending on current draw.

Not exactly advanced but it seems to get the job done.

EDIT : Shown is my second version, with a few more ground connections as well as a few other changes, otherwise it is the same as the one I have been using.
Attached Images
File Type: png RCMSB_Schematic.png (51.0 KB, 416 views)
File Type: png RCMSB_Gerber.png (81.0 KB, 398 views)

Last edited by Neutrality; 7th July 2012 at 11:50 AM.
Old 10th July 2012, 08:19 AM   #2
kp93300 is offline kp93300  Malaysia
diyAudio Member

hi
Does it matter which darlington to use in the cap multiplier?
thks

kp93300
Old 10th July 2012, 12:42 PM   #3
marce is offline marce  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member

Nice arial design.
Old 10th July 2012, 01:40 PM   #4
Elvee is offline Elvee  Belgium
diyAudio Member

Swapping the order of the regulators and cap multipliers will improve the low/medium frequency output impedance, and leave the ripple rejection unchanged.
Old 11th July 2012, 03:14 PM   #5
diyAudio Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Elvee View Post
Swapping the order of the regulators and cap multipliers will improve the low/medium frequency output impedance, and leave the ripple rejection unchanged.
I built this for supplying pure Class A headphone amplifiers so a high and/or varying output impedance is not something I'm too worried about.