Keeping Shunt current output consistent - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Power Supplies

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 28th April 2012, 01:11 PM   #1
skibum is offline skibum  France
diyAudio Member

Default Keeping Shunt current output consistent

Hello,

Newbie here!

I am making several DC power supplies. They are shunt power supplies.

The problem I am having is that the shunt current of each PS varies. I think that must be due to the gain of the PNP transistor (used for the shunt current) is varying from one device to the next.

I can put a pot on each one and adjust the gain individually but I think it would be better to devise some circuit that ensures the amount of current coming through the PNP transistor is the same even when the gain from transistor to transistor varies.

This must be a common issue?

Are there any circuits out there?

Thanks,

skibum
Old 28th April 2012, 02:17 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

What is the variation you see? Is it important to be super accurate?
Remember that a shunt has the task to keep the voltage the same, so as the load current changes or the input voltage changes, the shunt current will adapt itself to keep the output voltage constant.
The only requirement is that the idle shunt current is high enough not to run out of current for max load current situations.
Do you have a circuit you can post? It is difficult to advise without knowing the circuit.

jan didden
Old 28th April 2012, 02:31 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

Jan,

Nice to see you here. I suspect you have the correct issue, almost. I would ask about the feedback method.

BTY did you notice you flags are 90 degrees out of phase?

ES
Old 28th April 2012, 03:00 PM   #4
Elvee is offline Elvee  Belgium
diyAudio Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by skibum View Post