Is PSUD II trust-worthy or not?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I was just trying out for the first time the PSUD II and try to make as perfect as possible PS for a tube amplifier i'm making. I was able to find the right combination of caps and resistors and later on added a choke...up to that point no problems at all...the graphic drawing showed me a perfect result. The thing is that when i make an exact replica of already existing and working PS, it gives me totally different readings of voltage on various points in the circuit.:confused:
Now, my question is: can i trust PSUD or go for the already proven designs no matter what PSUD shows? Has anyone had positive/negative experience with this PSUD II?

matej888

First of all i want to thank you guys for help (seriuosly, not trying to be sarcastic), but as i said i'm new with this software and sure i am doing something wrong, there's no doubt....

I've put as many data available regarding the power transformer, and chokes letting out the ESR of the caps (i will try to get that info too) and by exact replica i ment copying the schematics i have and comparing the results. My question was only (not having any experience with PSUD) if the software was reliable and could be taken as reference...

But i'm not stopping here, i will do further research and eventually find out (i'm actually reading all posts regarding the PSUD) what is the
right way to do it or better what am i doing wrong or missing out!

p.s.: if somebody is interested i can send the copied PSUD file for a check...

Thanx
matej888