+/- voltage query - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Power Supplies

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 29th February 2012, 07:08 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default +/- voltage query

i'm trying to read as much as possible without asking too many questions, but i am a complete noob to diy amps/psu's and electricity in general. been looking at the components and differences between smps and linear supplies.
search engines can't seem to recognise symbols +/- as search terms. tried wording 'plus minus voltage' etc. but to no avail.
the specs of this smps http://www.connexelectronic.com/documents/SMPS300R.pdf show two varieties. 24, 30, 36, 45 and +/-24, +/-30, +/-36, +/-45 volts. also it shows +/-V's for all variety AUX outputs.

does +/- mean positive OR negative output, does it mean the voltage is slightly variable being sightly above or slightly less, or does it mean something else?

cheers
Attached Images
File Type: jpg smps300r.JPG (76.5 KB, 202 views)
Old 29th February 2012, 08:23 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

The +/- refers to a dual output, so +/-24 would mean it has a +24V and a -24V output.
Old 29th February 2012, 09:29 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

This may make it easier to understand. If you can imagine two batteries connected in series like this and the 0v point is your reference 0v.

Therefore you can see how you can get a positive 1.5V by connecting between the 0V point and the +1.5V point, or you can get -1.5V by connecting between the 0V point and the -1.5V point.

Most amplifiers use this type of power supply configuration as "music" is an AC waveform, and such has both negative and positive values.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg example.JPG (9.9 KB, 174 views)
Old 12th March 2012, 01:19 PM   #4
diyAudio Member

sorry for the late response, been away. thanks for the replies too.