HELP with modifying ATX PSU and ferrite core calculations. - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Power Supplies

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 13th February 2012, 02:32 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default HELP with modifying ATX PSU and ferrite core calculations.

So I am studying the ATX power supplies for few days.
Now I have few questions.

1. TL494 is switching the 340 DC volts at some frequency lets say 50khz. Now my question is what voltage goes to the EI ferrite core at the primary winding. At that frequency I think there wont be 340V or am I wrong? As far as I know by changing the switching frequency you change the primary voltage.

2. I would like to rewind ATX PSU EI ferrite transformer (EI-33) so I can get 2x36V out of PC ATX. Now my question is how to calculate the number of windings. Should I use 220V as input parameter for the primary winding or should I use 340V because AC-DC will be 340V or should I use other voltage because of the switching frequency?

3. I know how to calculate standard laminated EI transformer, but can I use those calculations for these EI ferrite?

4. Can someone tell me the way to calculate EI ferrite cores for windings wire tickness etc etc.

5. How can I know at what frequency the PSU is working and is that frequency variable? What will happen if it is changed.

Thanks.

Last edited by DigiSoft; 13th February 2012 at 02:37 PM.
Old 13th February 2012, 02:56 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

Location: Barrio Garay,Almirante Brown, Buenos Aires, Argentina