Need advise with schottky voltage drop - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Power Supplies

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 18th January 2012, 03:11 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Need advise with schottky voltage drop

hi, im a newbie diy'er and am making a power supply from a kit.

schematic for the rectifier and filter part of the kit is attached.

the kit is fairly prehistoric and i cant find any references to it on the web. its also fairly short on description. the schematic is pretty much the only thing in english.

when i connect a 13.8V AC (measured) center tapped output to the circuit, the rectified voltage drops to around 9V DC (measured at the filter caps)

when i connect a 16 V AC measured CT transformer, i get about 11 V DC at the caps.

the kit is supposed to give me a variable regulated (via lm723) output of 0 to 15 VDC @ 5 or 10 A.

with the 13.8VAC input, im getting about 8.8 VDC regulated output. and with the 16 VAC input, i get about 10.8 VDC regulated output.

i tried applying a bench 14VDC supply to the circuit and the voltage at the caps was about 13.8VDC.

the kit is so old that i cant find any specs on the diodes.

what im wondering is:
1. is such a drastic voltage drop in the rectified output normal?
2. what i want is a 12 to 13 VDC output, so should I use a 17 or 18 VAC transformer? the filter caps are rated at 16V.
3. the diodes are 2-pin TO-220 and share a heatsink that is soldered to the positive rail because of where the heat sink pcb holes are. the kit shipped with mica insulating pads for the diodes. i put heat sink paste on both sides of the mica and used the supplied nylon washer to screw the diodes to the heat sinks. given the general lack of instructions with the kit, did i do soemthing wrong?

all measurements were taken with a modern RMS multimeter.

Thanks!!
Attached Images