Need schematic for AC to DC converter (12V AC in to 12-18V DC out)

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I am working on a project that needs between 12V and 18V 2A DC. I have the following transformer available:

in: 120V 65W
out: 12V AC 4170mA

Does anybody know where could I find a schematic for the AC to DC converter that would give me DC output between 12-18V at 2A? I can't design it myself as I have very little knowledge of electronics.

Thanks.

It would help if you were more specific about what you need it for, and any critical parameters it must meet.

For example, if you merely connect that transformer to a typical bridge rectifier with a filter capacitor after it, you will have a DC voltage between 12V-18V at 2A already, there is no boost circuit needed for that. See "Full-wave Rectifier with Smoothing Capacitor" on this page: Full Wave Rectifier and Bridge Rectifier

Thanks for replying. The power supply is needed for small guitar amplifier I am building. The amp is 18W max at 18V. I have a switching power supply but thought that reusing one of the existing torroids I have would be better. The full wave rectifier you linked to is simple to build and should suit me well. I am using something similar for my gainclone.

Whether the circuit I linked will be all you need depends on the noise rejection level of the amp circuit. If it causes buzzing you could then add an LM1085 regulator (reference circuit in its datasheet) to drop the minimum voltage, about 1.2V at 2A. At that power level it will need a modest sized heatsink.

Well, that is subject to interpretation. How filtered a power supply is or needs to be has been a subject of debate for decades and will continue to be one for decades longer.