Linear PS universal?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hey all,

I am new to they DIY scene and am making my first build a module kit.

I have learned so much about what each component does and its use, this is all very fascinating.

I would like to learn if Linear PS are universal, for example, i really like the PS on connex,

Connexelectronic

can this PS be used with another vendors boards, specifically,

Class D Audio Class D Audio CDA-258

it appears that the class d PS and the Connex PS are similar in design, the connex has 4 rectifiers, I can only see one on the Classd.

What is the advantage of having 4 rectifiers?

Thank you all for your time and wisdom.

ESR

Yes that is a most basic unregulated linear PSU which should work fine with the kits on that site, although the particular amp you linked is not showing up at the link you gave. Be sure to pick capacitors appropriate for the DC voltage your amp will use.

The overall design topology is the same for both PSU boards you mention but the Class D PSU has a bridge rectifier which is 4 diodes together in one package instead of 4 individual diodes. The advantages of 4 individual diodes is not only does it spread the heat out more, they have a metal mounting tab/backplate so they can have heatsinks put on if/when uses they would run hot enough to need one.

Some people also feel that certain diodes in a PSU change the way an amp sounds. They "usually" feel that the bridge rectifier diodes in the 'Class D PS" on that site are typical silicon diodes (this is only an assumption since classaudio does not list the part # for that) but the MUR860 diodes (linking in the schematic on Connexelectronic's site) used on the Connexelectronic PSU sound better due to being "soft recovery" type.

Thank you very much, both of you.