Removing noise from power grid - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Power Supplies

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 3rd August 2011, 11:25 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Removing noise from power grid

I have bought a Skytec Pro 240 amplifier and I am having trouble with noises from the power grid. The main problem is the elevator here in the building, which produces unpleasant noise when someone is using it.

There are four 1000 uF filtration capacitors in this amplifier. Would it be enough to install 10000 uF capacitors instead or do I need to do something else with the power supply? I am not an expert, any help would be appreciated.
Old 3rd August 2011, 11:48 AM   #2
DF96 is offline DF96  England
diyAudio Member

Just slapping in more capacitance can create more problems, and might not solve the issue. Is the noise entering via the mains lead or other cables such as speaker leads? That is, is it conducted or radiated interference? Do other items have the same problem?
Old 3rd August 2011, 12:05 PM   #3
marce is offline marce  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member

Sounds like the Skytec's EMC immunity isn't the required level. These days when designing products you have to expect the worse caqse EMC problems.
In the UK, BT Vision have a exemption from certain aspects of the CE requirements beacuase it is based on EMI, adding high frequency mush to the mains, which all other equipement will have to filter out.
Old 3rd August 2011, 12:09 PM   #4
AndrewT is offline AndrewT  Scotland
diyAudio Member

The mains noise could be attenuated by fitting a filter at the mains input socket of the equipment. Does your equipment have a mains filter?

These are sold as ready made assemblies that bolt to the chassis and provide an IEC socket on the outside face for connecting to the mains.

Is the interference air borne?