JVC Shelf Component System Power supply - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Power Supplies

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 22nd July 2011, 12:30 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default JVC Shelf Component System Power supply

I have a 1995 JVC MX-C550 Mini Shelf system that is blowing fuses...this is my first post here...
I have some experience repairing circuit boards/power supplies but not for many years...
I just returned home to find he the JVC didn't power up (it was off), when I removed the case I saw that the single 2A/125V fuse had blown...I replaced it with a 5A/250V fuse that I had (only mini in my supply) and it blew instantly...feeling that I had nothing else to lose before ordering the 2A/125V I bridged the fuse with tin foil....now it powers up normally but I don't have the speakers attached yet (I'm not leaving it on for more than two seconds)....anyway, what do you think the primary component on the PS would cause this??? Faulty capacitor??? shorted speakers??? Any help would be appreciated...I've gotten attached to this system in my shop....many thanks in advance for any help, Jim
Old 22nd July 2011, 05:29 AM   #2
! is offline !  United States
diyAudio Member

You'll have to isolate and test each component separately, but an offhand guess is that one of the output transistors has failed to a short condition.

Desolder the output transistors then see if the circuit still blows fuses, or of course test them, a google search will show you how.

Before attaching speakers, measure for DC offset. Granted, it is over 15 years old, also inspect capacitors for signs of failure but if it draws enough current to blow a fuse right away, it's probably not a capacitor unless you see one that has exploded.
Old 22nd July 2011, 07:07 AM   #3
Mooly is offline Mooly  United Kingdom
diyAudio Moderator

So it blew the fuse...