Beginners attempt at a Bench Supply or Class A Regulated PSU based on LM317

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Joined 2010
Paid Member
Hi All,

I'm a bit of a newbie, just starting to play with cadsoft eagle and trying to understand electronics fundamentals. The attached pictures are of a PCB design by myself for a dual tracking adjustable Power Supply I've designed for myself. The objective was to learn more about the software package itself as well as come up with something I can make into a bench power supply, or as I understand it, something I could use as a power supply for a class A amp. Forgive the relative untidiness of the schematic, but tidying it up would have involved doing the pcb all over again as an end result!

The schematic is a composite of the psu's decribed at Variable Dual Lab Power Supply the psu kit from jaycar and a cheat sheet example from altronics.

As I understand it, this should be good for upto 37V and 4A.

An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

The Blocks marked POT1 and 2 are for attaching a 20k linear dual gang pot, for adjusting the voltage and the large blank spaces behind the TIP2955 and TIP3055 are for heatsinks, or preferably to lay them flat and share a heatsink with the LM317.

So I've a number of questions I'd hope that someone could help me with.

1) layout. I've read loads about optimal layout, and done my best to follow what I've read. Any suggestions for improvements? Er actually, is it even correct?

2) The Capacitor C4 - should it be as close to the ADJ pin of the LM317 as possible, or is it fine where it is. uh, the only reason I ask is that it looks tidier there :)