SSLV1.1 builds & fairy tales

diyAudio Chief Moderator
Joined 2002
Paid Member
I have been using Panasonic FM, 1000 uF in that position for digital circuits/clocks. I cannot say that it is "better" than 220 uF for sure... but it certainly is sounding great in my application.

Typically clocks need very low noise below 10Hz is argued and the big cap does that band filtering more intense, now what every different clock appreciates more, I am not an expert in digital sources to tell. The big cap may has more ESL on the other hand, differs by brand and model in parameters anyway. So you judge by picking it up or not and what is best for you subjectively. To surely say, it takes lab testing for any combination of reg and load to optimize. Above the means and heads of the majority of hobbyists. I just found 220uF non problematic and quiet that is why I put it in the guide. Shows good enough wide band noise filtering in Spice too.

I got 100 2sk117gr (measured with 9V battery in the range from 2,8mA to 6,1mA), so wonderd what the optimum IDSS is for Q102, 103, 105 ???

The bib guide in appendix5 says to use
Q102 = small Idss
Q103 = medium
Q105 = highest idss

Is that because
- Q102 should be like 3mA; Q103 = 4mA, and Q105 5mA?
- or because the all should be as low as possible (but with Q102 most important for performance)?
- or because the all should be as high as possible (but with Q105 most important for performance)?

peter

My M.E.S.S.* is ready. :D

*M2Tech Evo Salas Supply

Attachments

• _P4150231.JPG
    _P4150231.JPG
    84.7 KB · Views: 619
  • _P4150217b.JPG
    _P4150217b.JPG
    116.7 KB · Views: 609
  • P4150222.JPG
    P4150222.JPG
    94.5 KB · Views: 603
  • P4150226.JPG
    P4150226.JPG
    90.8 KB · Views: 592
  • _P4150201.JPG
    _P4150201.JPG
    85.4 KB · Views: 593
  • _P4150194b.JPG
    _P4150194b.JPG
    69.5 KB · Views: 248
The S,
have you posted build and/or design details in another Thread?
Links please.