Need help on RC filter for power supply

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi friends,

First of all I am not an expert in electronic design, so please be patient with me....

I have built a few months ago a new and upgraded power supply for my preamp, replacing the original P.S.
I have been using it for a few months and the improvement is really huge. The skematics of this (version 1) P.S. is herebelow:
An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

The improvement in musicality compared to the stocked power supply is so huge, that I would like to improve further the power supply and I have been advised to add a RC network at the end of the P.S. flow. So the diagram of this version 2 would be as follow (the diagram is inspired by a dedicated article):
An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

Compared with the version 1, (C3, C7 and C11) in the version 2 play the same role than C3 in the version 1 (they are the big capacitors decoupled by small ones).
But on the right of the diagram, we see a RC network (C15, C17 and R1/C19) that is supposed to get rid of the capacitor residual inductance (this is what is explained in the source article).
The values proposed in the article are:
C15=C17=100nF 100V
C19=680nF 100V
R1=1ohm 17W (this value is given for a power amplifier P.S., so should probably reduced to a few watts for a preamp).

My knowledge in electronic is enough to make me confortable with the version 1 (I have built it and it is a success) but I am not sure that the proposed values for the version 2 are appropriate for a preamp power supply. Could you tell me if it is OK ?
If you have any additional recommendation for improving the version 1, I will be very interested !

Thanks friends,

Just another Moderator
Joined 2003
Paid Member