How much (capacitance) is too much? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Power Supplies

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 31st March 2011, 10:15 PM   #1
dobias is offline dobias  United States
diyAudio Member

Default How much (capacitance) is too much?

How much capacitance is proper?
I'm a rank amateur to electronics. I'm collecting all of the parts to assemble an SET amp with a separate PS. I'm using an LC filter after the rectifier tubes & from there providing separate LC's to each channel (a la Lundahl).
I've read everything I can find about sizing of the LC components & have wound up with two ranges of cap sizes. The RCA handbook has led me to use a 4uf cap after the first choke of 4.5H & 25uf caps after the two channel's separate 4.5H chokes. The power output is 350vdc & 250mA.
The other indicated sizing is for 110uf after the first choke & 230uf after the other two. The attitude with these higher caps is "all you can afford".
I'm sure that too much capacitance must have bad effects such as ringing.
I enjoy reading DIY Audio & learn a great deal from it. Mainly, that there is more than one way to skin a cat.
Old 31st March 2011, 10:27 PM   #2
DF96 is offline DF96  England
diyAudio Member

If the first (reservoir) capacitor is too large then the charging pulses become large and narrow. The result can be buzz due to induction and ground currents, and excessive transformer heating. A valve rectifier may have a maximum cap specified in the data sheet.

After that the smoothing caps do not matter too much. One proviso: the caps can resonate with the smoothing choke to create subsonic ringing.