.1 or .01 ps bypass caps

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
The data sheets say use .1uf bypasses. The devices in question are a Wolfson W8740 dac and an AD797. I have a quantity of surplus .01 polystyrenes. The current bypasses are ceramics (and not npo/cog) Is there any downside to going to the .01 value and is there any upside to using the film caps? I would appreciate advice on both the digital and analogue devices. Thanks

Joined 2009
Paid Member
I'd keep .1uf ceramics for bypass and use .01uf polystyrenes for signal, e.g. for RIAA correction, NFB networks in solid state amplifiers and such. It seems that ceramic caps in bypass networks has less influence on the sound - Cyril Bateman had a comprehensive review of that in, I believe, Electronics World.

I'm not an expert but here's what I think I know.

Typically it's better (i.e. safer) to use bypass caps that are slightly lossy, e.g. X7R ceramic instead of NPO or C0G, to damp any LC resonance that might be formed with the inductance of the supply rails. But you could instead, if necessary, add a small resistance in series with the supply rail, just before the bypass caps.

Think of the bypass caps as a small power supply that's there to meet a chip's sudden demands for current. The inductance of the supply-line conductors tends to slow down their (i.e. the supply lines') ability to "instantly" supply current steps or pulses that the chip needs. And that also causes voltage spikes on the rails (v = L x di/dt). But small capacitors very close to the chip's power pins can do it much more easily, and without disturbing the rail voltages nearly as much.

As a side effect, the bypass caps also act as low-pass filters (in combination with the supply line impedance), and tend to filter out externally-generated disturbances on the rails.