Need help on phase splitter

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
hi there, im constructing a simple phase splitter using BC550..

as attached is the schematic..
An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.
An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

problem is when i measure the THD for both the output, the in-phase signal turned out to be OK.. but not the inverted output.. as attached are the ARTA results for in-phase and inverted respectively..

so i thought it might be the inbalance output during measurement.. i then construct a differential circuit using INA137.. the schematic and measured THD is as attached..

the low freq hum is still there.. how to get rid of it? sorry for the noobness of this question.. noob here :sad:

There's a big difference in power supply rejection between the phases. You're picking up hum, for which the collector side has lower rejection. If your power supply is clean (check it!), you'll need to play around with the grounding a bit to get the hum out. If you can diagram how you have all grounds arranged, I'm sure that someone will have some suggestions.

thx for the fast response...

since this is the testing stage, i've yet to draw the PCB layout.. i was just using breadboard to conduct the test, but i've did make sure the ground is connected at the same point (star grounding)

as for the power supply, i'm quite certain that it is clean.. it's the same power supply i used for my previous power amplifier.. it does hav some hum on lower frequency at the output of the amp (same as in-phase output, hum on 50 Hz) but it's not as serious as this 1..

may i know why the power supply rejection between the phases can be this much difference? what can i do to improve it?