Dual PSU layout - how does this look? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Power Supplies

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 2nd September 2010, 11:42 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Dual PSU layout - how does this look?

Hello everybody.

I'm a long time hobbyist but I've only just got into amps and their PSUs (built a couple of 10/15w battery powered so far). I've been doing a fair amount of research into the transformer/rectifier/smoothing setup and have designed a wiring plan for the PSU I need for my amp, based on many hours browsing and a dual supply circuit diagram I found courtesy of ESP here... Power Supply for Power Amplifiers

I'm no artist but I think the attached diagram serves its purpose! My main concern was the transformer-bridge rectifier wiring but after reading up I think I've got it...! Each AMP module requires 55v @ at least 225 VA.

If anybody has a spare 5 minutes I'd appreciate your thoughts...

Thanks!

John.
Attached Images
File Type: png PSU wiring diagram.png (94.4 KB, 1255 views)
Old 3rd September 2010, 02:19 AM   #2
star882 is offline star882  United States
diyAudio Member

A similar trick is used in some "multiple rail" ATX power supplies.
Old 3rd September 2010, 11:44 AM   #3
AndrewT is offline AndrewT  Scotland
diyAudio Member

First:
Move the two fuses.
One goes in the mains primary circuit.
One more goes in the secondary circuit AFTER the main smoothing caps for every polarity. That's five fuses in total.
Use a close rated slow blow in the mains.
Use a fast rated in the supply lines to suit the current output of the amplifiers.

You show a parallel dual polarity supply from a single centre tapped transformer.