Old mini Atx Powersupply

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi im kinda new at this so if you need more info just say...

I got an repair, i want to do on an OLD NEC pc, the Powersupply is faulty and its a mini atx so i really need to repair it and not replace.

the Powersupply was dead. i reaplaces one of the caps2200 uf 10v, now the powersupply starts and dies again.

can anyone help me with this?

Kind regards :D

More detail regarding "starts and dies again" - did it destroy itself again or just shut down? After how long? If you short the green wire on the 20-pin connector to ground to start the PSU without a load does it "die"? While running what are the voltages?

Most PC power supply need load to function. If you are trying to test the PS without a load, then it will do what you experience, shutdown after a second or less. If you don't want to connect it to a motherboard try connecting some 1-2Watt resistors in the 50, 100 ohms range on the 5V and 12V connections. Most of the time this works, Some of the more expensive PS actually have multiple regulators which prevents this method from working, unless you connect all many more resistors.

thanx, will check the tripping protection, dint think of that. *facepalm* i tested it with load aswell, both ways it does the same thing, if i test the voltage when it start it goes on and off, then i unplug and it does the same, really sounds like the tripping protection, i will check it out on monday. thanx for the advice!

Almost any power MOSFET (enhancement type) will measure as a drain to source short when the gate is charged above 3 to 5V. The short should disappear completely when the gate is discharged to 0V, leaving just the body diode.