Externally programmed and adjustable regulated outboard amp power supply - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Power Supplies

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 5th June 2010, 10:35 PM   #1
exeric is offline exeric  United States
diyAudio Member

Default Externally programmed and adjustable regulated outboard amp power supply

I'm trying to design a regulated tube PS. I'm new to this but have some basic, but very rusty, background in it. It seems to me that an outboard PS is the way to go to exclude most magnetic interference to any amp. Since it's going to be an outboard PS I'm going to use 2 mains transformers for HV and another transformer for bias supply and, if I can do it, for heaters.

I plan on using industrial control xfms that can be converted beween 220 and 440 AC RMS output. They have 500 VA each and I already have two, so that part is defined and won't change. The reason I got 2 such big honkin xfms is I got this idea in my head. Tell me if this is crazy, because I can't believe that if it isn't crazy that someone hasn't done it before. It just makes so much sense.