Power supply For TDA2030A

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi there,
Guys Im new here so pwease take it easy on me ^_^ and you could say that Im a total noob.
Anyways Ive got me some TDA2030A chips and I hope to make something out of these chips (as a starter project xD) I have all the schematics and everything except for the schematics and ratings of the power supply so can you pls help me with that by providing me some kind of guide on making the power supply for an amp powered by TDA2030A ive decided to make one with the single power not the split one :):eek:

You can use a battery (e.g. 12V lead-acid) directly but if you want to make it work from a wall outlet (230Vac or so), you have to add a PSU. It can be a linear transformer + rectification or a switching power supply (SMPS). What would you like to do? :)

I've built a TDA2030A amp, ran it off a regulated split supply. For some undetermined reason it sounded awful at first but then was fine after a few hours running in. Nice little amp.

You could run it off a wall-wart.

Absolute maximum voltage for TDA2030A is 44V, minimum is 12V.

Allowing for mains supply going 10% higher than nominal a 40V adapter would be the maximum. Allowing for 20% low mains, a 15V adapter would be the minimum. Current rating I'd reckon about 1A for a 15V supply, up to 3 amps for a 40 volt. You might get away with less.

Since mains adapters are usually double-insulated and have no earth connection, you would need to run a separate connection from your amp to mains earth for safety.

If you want to build your own PSU, TDA2030A datasheet recommends:

-- 24 Volt transformer (50VA)
-- bridge rectifier
-- 3300uF reservoir capacitor

It's on page 12.
http://www.st.com/stonline/products/literature/ds/1459/tda2030a.pdf

You can google up datasheets for pretty much any component. They are useful.