Isolated PFC Topology choice, 800W.

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
hello!

just completed a 5kW powersupply for our high power product, altough my company decided that our next product must be cheaper! currently my company has focused on high performance, and not low cost, and I'm not very experienced in low cost segment.

so to make an isolated, regulated, universial mains supply with PFC, +/- 100v output and about 800w continously.

the cheapest possible way must be making a single stage with PFC and isolation in one converter. and as I see it, there is only 2 topologies feasable:

- flyback, suffers from high peak currents, high voltage stress, large input filter.
- isolated boost (current fed boost-push pull). snubbing? is this even possible? suffers high voltage stress, input current rush needs to be handled.

I'm kind off liking the idea with the isolated boost, since it's so simple in theory. thinking of having to add the buck transistor but only using it during startup, to relieave the design of the usual startup resistor and releay. the buck transistor might be a simple P-FET driven at low speed (20kHz) and could also be used as on/off switch. up and running the reflected output voltage is about 400v. using a simple Atmel 8bit processor for the Avg.mode current control. Im thinking to not use a flyback winding on the inductor, the stresses on the transistors are great enough as it is. 1200v igbts will be used to handle the basic 800v stress +spikes. all the control and regulation is the easy part.

for cost, I think that the input inductor added in the isolated boost is proberly matched by the cost of the DM coil needed as input filter to the flyback. the dual transistor is no problem since the current stress is less.