simple SMPS - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Power Supplies

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 6th January 2010, 03:46 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Send a message via Yahoo to ionutzxpo
Default simple SMPS

hello i found this IR2153 based smps and i don't know if it's ok ive bought all the parts but im scared to go ahead whit the build..."im new in smps build"...thanks
Attached Images
File Type: gif smps.GIF (10.0 KB, 2111 views)
Old 6th January 2010, 05:14 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

That's a very bare bones circuit I see no snubbers on the primary or secondary of the power transformer. Where ever you got the circuit from i hope it told you what type of transformer to use & turns ratios, ferrite material etc. Also no mention of input filtering apart from a simple block diagram, you'll need a couple of filter types to prevent noise getting back into the mains

It's also non regulated, i do hope you realise that.
Old 7th January 2010, 09:34 AM   #3
m-tech is offline m-tech  Serbia
diyAudio Member

Actually, you can build very nice and small SMPS using IR2153 ( without output voltage regulation ). But your schematic need little improvements ( you need to add snnubers, inpu NTC, and some kind of overcurrent limit.
You can find lots of stuff on net.
I am very happy with my IR2153 based smps.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Yamaha EMX5000.jpg (309.1 KB, 2210 views)
Old 7th January 2010, 11:36 AM   #4
Account Disabled

Quote:
Originally Posted by m-tech View Post
Actually, you can build very nice and small SMPS using IR2153 ( without output voltage regulation ). But your schematic need little improvements ( you need to add snnubers, inpu NTC, and some kind of overcurrent limit.
You can find lots of stuff on net.
I am very happy with my IR2153 based smps.

You tried the SMPS in the above schematic?