Need help with SLA battery capacitor bank - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Power Supplies

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 9th June 2009, 12:36 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Need help with SLA battery capacitor bank

Hi guys,

I am relatively new to electronics and was hoping for some of your advice please.

I'm running a couple of tripath amps from 12V SLA batteries and I've read that installing a bank of capacitors between the battery & amp is often worthwhile to help increase bass output.
I have 4x 10,000uF Nichicon electrolytics on-hand that I'd like to use for this purpose but I don't know how they should be soldered in properly.

In other words, I'm not sure if I should place them in series or parallel with the positive & negative power cables and I also need to make sure the orientation is correct given they're electrolytics.

If anyone can help me out I'd be much obliged, thanks guys.
Old 9th June 2009, 12:51 PM   #2
gareth is offline gareth  Wales
diyAudio Member

By the sounds of things you have a standard 12v battery with a positive and a negative terminal ? Is that right?

What the capacitors will do is, after a period of time they will charge themselves from the battery and act as a 'current pool' if you like for the current. The bigger the caps, the more current held but these caps, as they are DC will take a specific time to reach their maximum capacity.

Ideally you would need to know the maximum sort of current (or charge - Amps) that would be drawn.

Do these amplifiers need an earth?

If you could give some more detail please....

Gareth