The simplistic Salas low voltage shunt regulator

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hey all,

I've read good things about this shunt regulator and decided to use one as a supply for a Joachim Gerhard Buffer. The buffer requires +/-15v and 25mA per channel. The things I'm looking to accomplish are: what should I use BJT or IRF? and would this... http://www.digikey.com/scripts/dksearch/dksus.dll?vendor=0&keywords=TE62055 ...work for a transformer? Amveco makes a dual 18VAC version as well, but from my reading of the BiB guide it looks like the dual 22VAC version would be a better choice.

@Salas I saw your response... http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/powe...-voltage-shunt-regulator-116.html#post3402287 ...about how to pick a transformer. I'm still trying to wrap my head around this. I'm a bit of a beginner on the design side of things and have had my hands dirty for quite a bit when it comes to "paint by numbers" electronics. This is my first foray into trying to get out of that box.

Thanks,
Scott

Alright, see with what cap where does least possible Vpp of whatever circulates or emits and you can't do much more, then leave it alone.

I have added a 1000uF FR cap on the shiga entry and things are down to

attachment.php

No patience right now to experiment with lower values and different types...
When I start wrapping things up, I will also up the CCS current a bit

diyAudio Chief Moderator
Joined 2002
Paid Member
Hey all,