Clean DC supply? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Power Supplies

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 7th April 2009, 10:39 AM   #1
DavidJE is offline DavidJE  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member

Default Clean DC supply?

Hi,

I want to make a circuit that can take a simple 10-15V DC input and give me a multiple clean regulated 12V DC outputs. I want the output's to be isolated from the input and from each other to stop interference. The output's would only need to supply about 2-4 amps each maximum. That's the idea I have in my head anyway. I'm an electronics novice so I don't know how much of this is possible.

This is to supply power to several pieces of Hi-Fi equipment that require 12V DC supplies.

Could anyone point me in the direction of a suitable design for this?

May thanks,

David.
Old 7th April 2009, 11:57 AM   #2
Banned

Google '12V buck boost'.

Thats what you want, a bunch of 12 volt buck/boost regulators. They'll be a switching regulators, so I don't know about 'clean DC' but it'll be regulated.

Or you could use a single boost regulator to say 18V and a bunch of linears to regulate back down. A 7812 will give you 12.6V if you connect the ground pin via a diode, then you can connect that to the bases of a bunch of (NPN) pass transistors all with their collectors connected to 18V and you'll get 12V at the emitters.

w
Old 7th April 2009, 12:00 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

Since you want multiple isolated voltages, you must use a transformer-coupled converter. The maximum output power will determine the topology. At low power levels one might consider flyback, at higher power levels push-pull. Personally I would recommend using push-pull since the input voltage is very low. At low input voltage and high output power the input current will be large though.