Why are they building -15v regs

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Joined 2006
Paid Member
Hi

I am studying the layout for a +-15v PSU for my new pre amp.

Untill now, I needed to use dedicated +15 and -15v regs like 317 / 337 with the known shortcomings.

Following this article: http://www.pedjarogic.com/gc/supplies.htm I understand that a simple topology adjustment enables me to use a positive reg for the negative rail. Quote"Negative regulators with necessary current ratings are neither easy to find nor are cheap these days, but if each secondary has its own rectifier, the positive regulators can be used both for positive and negative rails."

As I am not at ease regarding these matters, I need your advise on the possible shortcomings of such a design.

Why is it not used more frequently ?

Do the (-) regs shortcomings justify the savings by using only one rectifier bridge ?

Regards

Ricardo

OK... I'll way in on this. Please take what I say with a grain of salt and remember all advice is free so you get what you pay for...

In general, you can adjust your topology to drive from a single rail. The problem comes when you need to operate at either extreme of the amplifier limit. Meaning anytime you approach ground or the Vcc rail. Remember, all circuits need headroom to operate near the rails. That is what makes +/- voltages so easy to work with. Your signals are alrady working around the midpoint (GND) so everthing stays nice and semetric.

If I am wringing the last few pennies from a design, the negative rail is the last thing I drop because biasing everything to the correct point and making sure everything has the proper headroom can be a pain. Besides that, the parts that operate well near the rails are relatively expensive (rail-rail op amps) as opposed to using generic LM339/LM393 type parts.

I hope that helps...

Tony