Flat screen TV install in Van, reducing amperage - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Power Supplies

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 21st August 2008, 07:00 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Flat screen TV install in Van, reducing amperage

Hi,

I'm a Newbie to this forum, and very inexperienced at installing auto audio/video systems. I tried unsuccessfully searching threads here for an answer and decided to post my questions.

I'm installing a new LCD TV into my VW van. The power source for the new TV has a converter, reducing 110V AC house current, down to 12V DC, 4-5 AMPS, which then connects to the back of the TV with a DC coaxial power plug.

The Van has the typical 12V system, so I'm thinking I can dump the converter that came with the TV, and wire it directly into the van's electrical system. The van has a second battery, so I'm not worried about the power drain on the starting battery.

Here are a few questions ...

1.) The TV's power source (the converter) outputs 12V DC, 5 AMPS, and the vans' electrical system outputs 12v DC, 10-11 AMPS. How do I reduce the amps so I don't burn-up the TV when it's directly wired into the van's electrical system?

2.) Presently, the output wire from the TV's power converter has a small plastic (magnetic?) canister near the coax plug. It's a small plastic cylinder (approx. .5" dia x 1.5" long), and the wire runs through it. I'm not sure what this does. Would I need to apply this type of unit onto any wiring that I do as well?

Any insights are appreciated.
Old 21st August 2008, 08:55 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

Default Re: Flat screen TV install in Van, reducing amperage

Quote:
Originally posted by YSquared