Super Regs

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.

iko

Ex-Moderator
Joined 2008
Almost a year later, here's the version I am going to work with -- mostly surface mount, save the rectifier diodes and electrolytic caps -- I have not had a lot of success mounting smt electrolytics. The reference for each is the LM4040:

An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

Looks very nice Jack, I'm looking forward to some results from you. I've looked into using a high performance opamp buffer in a different regulator as well, but then dropped the idea. Is the lm4040 a reasonably low noise reference in reality? I have no experience with it.

Jack, is this your new reg? I meant to ask how it was coming along.

It's the design from the LME49600 datasheet, nothing original there. The open loop bandwidth of the LMe49600 is 110MHz (180MHz if the bandwidth pin is brought to Vee).

I strongly suspect that it is a layout issue, since all of the connections are correct per the schematic. I did have a layout issue with the SOT-23 LM4040 which I fixed.

iko

Ex-Moderator
Joined 2008
Did you use an output cap at all? There's also Jimmie D. Felps' trick with the small resistor in series with the output, for stopping crazy opamps oscillation (applies only to driving capacitive loads, but worth trying because it's so easy).

Jack, why do you feed the opamp from the unregulated side? You have missed decoupling of the LME chip plus rather long small trace. For a Super Regulator compactness is a virtue, don't you agree Mr. Didden?

Unlike the Super-Reg -- I don't see how this one starts if you attempt to feed it from the regulated side. In the Super Reg there is current flowing to start it going.

Unlike the Super-Reg -- I don't see how this one starts ............. the Super Reg........ current flowing to start it going.
there is a whole section on start up.