60hz Line filter for PSU

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I am building a small power supply for some audio equipment I have. What I want to do is introduce some sort of bandpass filter before the transformers to only allow 50/60hz frequencies into the supply. Is it better to just make one using caps and inductors or better to find an already make PCB package that I can just solder to the board? It has to allow 3 Amps of current at most. Can you guys give recommendations for both?

Regards,
Christan

I'm not an expert, here, but...

I'm not sure why you need that. What other frequencies are you concerned about? If it's only higher frequencies that you're worried about, maybe you could use a (simpler) LC low-pass filter, instead of a bandpass. A low-frequency bandpass filter for large-ish currents will be more bulky and more expensive.

On the other hand, assuming that you have a pressing need for a narrow bandpass filter for 50-60Hz, remember that you can also use a notch filter to make a bandpass filter, by taking the difference between the filter output and the input. For only three amps, maybe you could use a power opamp (chipamp) for the difference amplifier. I mentioned that method because there are probably quite a few existing designs for 50-60Hz notch filters, available, that you might be able to scale for your current-level requirement. However, I don't know if that would be a practical approach, or not, in your case. There might also be problems with the inrush current.

Also, there is a very good free passive filter design software program downloadable from http://www.aade.com . But I've never used it for very low frequency filters, or high-current filters.