B&G NEO8 PLANAR TRANSDUCER crossed to two Dayton classic 8"(DC200-8) - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Planars & Exotics

Planars & Exotics ESL's, planars, and alternative technologies

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 28th November 2005, 07:19 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default B&G NEO8 PLANAR TRANSDUCER crossed to two Dayton classic 8"(DC200-8)

Hello all,
First off I am new to this hobby so bear with me.
The plan, simply stated above is what I am thinking, enclosed in a transmission line of course. Now from what I have read 2-way systems are simpler, especially for a newbie but will cost about the same if you want deep bass extension, so that is the goal. However, $63 a piece for the planar, I might want to go 3-way. On the flip sied, from reading other posts, it seems desirable to avoid having a crossover in the critical region based on the Fl/Mun. curves, hence the B&G's that cover 500hz up to 20k and the dual 8's should only be a couple dB's down in the high 20's (hz) which is fine.

Now part of my question is does anyone have any experience with these B&G's (partsexpress 264-712)?
The other part and I dont know the technical term to describe this, but when you mate a nearly massless planar to a "heavy" cone driver, can the cone move fast enough to match the planar (is this phase alignment?). I know that ESL's do this commonly but that is usually below ~100-150hz as sub-duty, will I run into any problems crossing at 500-700hz.

Before this gets too long... if anyone would like to bring up any thoughts or ideas, positive or negative on this plan feel free. It seems logical to me, but that's not experience talking.