Finished ESL picture (finally!) - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Planars & Exotics

Planars & Exotics ESL's, planars, and alternative technologies

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 29th May 2002, 01:53 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Finished ESL picture (finally!)

After many mistakes and errors, difficulties with parts and electronics, finally I am done. The ESL is framed with some scrap 2"x1" plexiglass. Of course, the frame is now permanently joined and the ESL is stuck right where it is. It can however tilt 360 degrees in the stand. This ESL and its counterpart were given to my brother, whom I hope will appreciate the effort put into it.
I'm already working on the pair for myself.

I guess that I should state that sonically it sounds beautiful. I'm pretty new in the audio world, so I can safely say that they are the best sounding speakers I've heard. Of course, that could be a little pride shining through.

Enough bragging,
-Dan
Attached Images
File Type: gif eslsmall.gif (61.5 KB, 1695 views)
Old 29th May 2002, 02:06 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

Congratulations!!!
To build electrostatics is not easy...
Bravo!!!
Regards
Jorge

PS:good listenning!
Old 29th May 2002, 08:51 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

They look great. Where did you get the basic plans and can you give us details on transformers etc. I am starting to get the bug myself. I have a couple of projects to do first but want some stats without the price.
Old 29th May 2002, 09:00 PM   #4
Apogee is offline Apogee  United States
diyAudio Member

Thumbs up Great Job!!!

I would also like to see the plans that you used or where the idea came from...

Again great job! Beautiful!!!

Happy listening,

Steve
Old 29th May 2002, 11:15 PM   #5
diyAudio Member

David and Steve,