Just some crazy idea for studio monitors - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Planars & Exotics

Planars & Exotics ESL's, planars, and alternative technologies

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 13th February 2015, 07:18 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Just some crazy idea for studio monitors

Well like the title says, just a crazy idea.
But hey, I was thinking, and thought "I want some more speakers to monitor my mixs.... Planars, ESLs or some thing would be freaking epic!!! And looks sweet as well!"

At the moment since I'm a poor producer and can't afford a nice pair KRKs, Focal professional, or any thing of that nature I'm using my pair of Peavey 1210H PA speakers and a Alesis solid state power amp.
Which do the job pretty well right now, and lets me hear how it would sound through a club system

But any way, I thought using ESLs or some other exotic speaker for reference monitors would be pretty cool.
So has anyone else thought about this? And most of all has anyone tried it?

I think it would be pretty cool, and of course I know you would have to have a cross over for the low end and more than likely use a normal speaker Hahahahaha

But any way I want to hear your thoughts and if you got pictures of your studio with them setup, please post them

Last edited by VicesLIkeVipers; 16th February 2015 at 04:31 AM.
Old 13th February 2015, 08:03 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

Note that dipole speakers have really different sound dispersion pattern compared to normal box speakers (like most studio monitors). You can't place them close to a back wall, and ideally you should dampen/diffuse the back wave. Also if you sit really close to the speakers you probably want a small speaker.