Jecklin Float Electrostatic troubleshooting - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Planars & Exotics

Planars & Exotics ESL's, planars, and alternative technologies

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 30th November 2014, 06:51 PM   #1
nlinus is offline nlinus  Sweden
diyAudio Member

Default Jecklin Float Electrostatic troubleshooting

I just got my hands on a pair of Jecklin Float Two Electrostatic with Jecklin PS2 "Energizer".
The condition is fairly good. The PS2 looks great, but the headphones require some refurbishing. The foam has to be replaced etc.

There is also something wrong with them. I have no experience with electrostatic speakers, so this is quite new to me.
I have connected the PS2 to a Inter-M R600 amplifier, and the headphone actually produces sound, but the level is very low and the sound is a bit distorted. Especially at low frequencies.

There seem to be no change in sound is I disconnect the mains power to the PS2. Yes, this means that I get sound also with the PS2 unpowered. Maybe this is normal, but I kind of thought bias supply was needed to get any sound at all.

The PS2 circuit board is in very good condition. I resoldered all the components, and the wiring between the circuit board and the connectors.

The two connectors by the way; why are there two of them? I noticed that on one of them, bias voltage to both speakers are wired through one 10Mohm resistor, while on the other bias was wired to separate 10Mohm resistors.

Anyway, I believe that the bad sound I'm getting would be caused by some error in the bias supply. Either in the PS2, the wiring, or maybe with the speakers. Would be very happy for some input/ideas on this.