Ribbon Low-End Response - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Planars & Exotics

Planars & Exotics ESL's, planars, and alternative technologies

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 31st May 2011, 01:55 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Ribbon Low-End Response

This is a repost as it didn't make sense to post this where I previously did.

I'm just getting into this DIY ribbon business and as of now I have a few ribbon prototypes up and running. My main focus right now is pushing the bass response of the ribbons as low as possible. Whats the lowest anyone here has gotten their ribbon to go? Is there a practical limit that everyone has conceded to (given the ribbon width vs resistance limitations)? Obviously I could make a 3-inch wide ribbon but it would be prohibitively long and thus require a huge number of magnets.
Old 31st May 2011, 01:58 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

Default low end response.

I have been building full range planars for 20 years now from large ones 7' high to my latest smallest design using 23 micron mylar A. 60 x 40 cms which go down to 20 Hz. I don't know if this is of any interest to you?.
Old 31st May 2011, 02:06 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

Henry, that certainly seems very neat indeed. Do you have any pictures?

I actually was thinking more about ribbons, fastened to the frame only on the short ends though.
Old 1st June 2011, 08:13 AM   #4
diyAudio Member